Sheviock Church was dedicated to St Peter & St Paul on 13th October 1259. Much of this church still reveals its 13th century and 14th century origins, especially the tower which is unique in Cornwall having a spire. It is reminiscent of a C14 Cornish church with reclining effigies of knights in typical clothes of c1375.
The priests of St Germans persuaded Sir John de Daunay to build a church on his lands at Sheviock. He commenced the work, and, notwithstanding his great wealth, his heart failed him, and he curtailed the fair proportions on which he had at first decided. The church was eventually built, but not to the proportions originally envisaged. The Daunay aisle in Sheviock Church still preserves the name of this family, who appear to have possessed at one time nearly all this, and much of the adjoining parish.
A north transept was removed to make way for a perpendicular aisle. The chancel was restored in 1851 in memory of the then late rector. The 1851 restoring of the chancel was supervised by the architect George Edmund Street. He designed the stained glass east window there which was made by Wailes
The church was restored again in 1871.
The arcade has six pointed arches; the dressings throughout are of Caen stone.
There is a tower with a spire, and which had been shortened during repair.
Sheviock Church records
Sheviock Parish Church information on Genuki